What’s New: Week of July 16th, 2017

Hi all! I hope your week has been more relaxing and enjoyable than mine. While I did go to a really fun concert, I’ve been stressed every day because I’m trying to get everything in order for my international travel next week. Ugh.. But at least I have some good books to make me feel better! I haven’t had much time to read this week, but I hope to read a lot more next week, since I’ll be on a 14hr flight (yay?). Anyways, I can’t get too ahead of myself–lets recap this week!

Inbox:

34962936I forgot to mention this title last week, but I also got approved for The Maze at Windermere by Gregory Blake Smith on Edelweiss. The title really attracted me to this novel, as well as the mention of a maze, which for some reason brings images of mystery and decadent fantasy to my mind. Who knows.. This novel is one of multiple narratives and stories within stories, all framed by that of a professional tennis player and guests at a party. I don’t really know what to expect, but I am hoping for some rich language and exciting stories. The Maze at Windermere comes out on January 9th, 2018 and is published by Viking, who I thank for providing me with an advanced digital copy for review! I hope to get to it soon on my Kindle. (also wow, look at that gorgeous cover!)

33233008Yesterday I got an exciting NetGalley approval for Shade the Changing Girl Vol. 1: Earth Girl Made EasyI heard about this graphic novel on a podcast.. I think… so I requested it a few weeks (maybe a month?) ago. I thought my request had no hope, but I was so happy to be approved yesterday! I’ve just opened the file, and the illustrations look really whimsical and colorful. I do have to put this out there–I know nothing about the universe this takes place within, or other graphic novels/comics that this story may be related to. BUT the story–about an alien girl who inhabits the body of a high schooler on Earth–combined with the bright and zany illustrations make me so so excited to read this. It just seems so fun and enjoyable. This is Volume #1, which I believe contains Issues 1-6. Shade the Changing Girl Vol. 1: Earth Girl Made Easy will be published on July 4th, 2017 by DC Young Animal (DC Comics). Thank you for approving my request, and I will probably read this over the weekend!

Outbox:

Sadly, I haven’t finished any books this week due to my busy and stressful weekend. I hope to get something finished this weekend, or at least make some good progress. I’m about 50% through The Queen of the Night by Alexander Chee, which I am LOVING. It is hitting every mark–mysterious, historical fiction, decadent, sexy but also beautifully written! I love historical fiction, especially when there is some tie in to the aristocratic/royal class. It’s just so fun and different from how we live today, and I love it! I’m still getting through The Radium Girls by Kate Moore, but as I have mentioned maybe three times already, I haven’t had a lot of time to read at night.

I really cannot wait for the weekend! Keep me in your reading thoughts as I attempt to actually make progress on everything. What are you reading now? What have you finished recently? Let me know in the comments, and keep up with me on Goodreads!

 

Leave a Reply

