TBR Spotlight: May 2017

And we’re back to highlight some more books from my ever-growing tbr list! I decided to choose four numbers randomly, and then see what books on my tbr correspond to those numbers.

30901609The Night Ocean by Paul La Farge

I have to admit, I don’t know much about Lovecraft, so that isn’t what drew me to this novel. Instead, I was more interested in the whole mystery aspect of the story. Marina, a psychologist, doesn’t consider her husband’s disappearance (after his obsession with a brief period of HP Lovecraft’s life, when he lived with a gay teenager in Florida) a suicide, and has to figure out what actually happened to him. I’m sure this book will embed some of the same elements of horror that Lovecraft is known for, which isn’t completely my cup of tea, but I’m open to trying it out! I also love the cover for this novel–it’s really striking.

 

29363302I’ll Tell You in Person by Chloe Caldwell

I do not even remember adding this to my tbr, so this is a fun discovery! This is an essay collection about growing up and becoming an adult. I don’t usually read essay collections, but I feel like the stories in this collection can connect to my life, as I am also struggling to grow up as I enter adulthood. This also isn’t too long, so I think it would be a quick, interesting read. And I also really like this cover!

 

 

 

 

30841109Victoria by Daisy Goodwin

I AM SO EXCITED TO READ THIS! And also watch the TV show! I have half of the season recorded (but somehow the first few episodes disappeared.. rude!), so I need to get on that. I love historical fiction, especially about English royalty, so I am so pumped to read this. I don’t really know much about Queen Victoria, especially in her youth, so I think it will be really eye-opening to read about the formation of such an important figure in the British monarchy.

 

 

 

29758002The Freedom Broker by K.J. Howe

This is the first novel in the Thea Paris series, about a young woman, Thea, who is one of the best at kidnap and ransom¬†negotiating. After her father is kidnapped, she is led on a journey to find him again, facing a cryptic kidnapper. I haven’t read a lot of thrillers like this, but if it is well-written, I could easily get behind it. I love a strong female lead who is a complete badass and goes on all sorts of adventures, so I hope this could be the next thriller series I love.

 

 

 

If you’ve read any of these books, please let me know what you thought in the comments below! What’s on your tbr list this May?

Leave a Reply

