March Wrap Up: All Our Wrong Todays, The Hen Who Dreamed She Could Fly and more!

And by more, I mean one more. I only read four books during March, which was a little sad. I’ve been getting busier and busier with finals approaching, so I’ve had less time to post on here. I hope you all can forgive me! I can’t wait until classes are over at the end of the month, and I can finally get back into posting and reading more often.

Anyways, in March I finished All Our Wrong Todays by Elan Mastai, Setting Free the Kites by Alex George, The Hen Who Dreamed She Could Fly by Hwang Sunmi and Pachinko by Minjin Lee, which I wrote a review on here. I’ll go in chronological order, and write a bit about each book and what I thought of it!

SETTING FREE THE KITES jacketSetting Free the Kites by Alex George

This is a coming of age novel that tells the story of two young boys living in Maine–Robert and Nathan. Robert’s life is pretty ordinary until he meets Nathan, who is new in town, and whose daring personality challenges Robert’s rational and tame side. Nonetheless, they become friends and we follow them throughout two summers as they transition from middle to high school.

I thought this was a very easy and fun read, however it wasn’t anything special. I felt that George relies too much on grief and death to move the plot forward and develop his characters. I think there could have been a deeper exploration into Nathan and Robert’s personalities, rather than the more light-hearted and simple reflections offered by George (though these characters are in middle/high school so how contemplative could you get..). I just felt George could have pushed himself more when exploring such important themes. However, there are some really funny and sweet moments, and I would still recommend this book if you’re a fan of coming of age stories!

I received a copy of this book from the publisher through a giveaway. 3.5/5 stars.

9781780745343_13The Hen Who Dreamed She Could Fly by Sunmi Hwang

I read this book for my Korean Literature class, and I really enjoyed it! It is a sweet story about a hen named Sprout, who dreams that she will one day lay an egg, hatch it and raise a chick. Sprout is an egg-laying hen on a farm, and one day she escapes her cage. After escaping, she has all sorts of adventures, which constantly keep you reading. This book is just over 100 pages, and I finished it in about 3 hours. While this is a children’s book, I think it is a great read for anyone. Sunmi Hwang brings up a lot of important ideas about community, family and acceptance. 5/5 stars!

I’m going to skip Pachinko, since I have written a full review of it already. Check the link at the top of this post if you’d like to read it!

27405006._UY2048_SS2048_All Our Wrong Todays by Elan Mastai

I really wanted to write a full review of this book, but I haven’t had time, so here is a lil mini-review! This novel is about Tom, who lives in 2016, but in the future that was imagined in the 1960s (flying cars, food-generating microwaves etc). His father is inventing a time machine, and Tom accidentally goes back in time, messes some things up, and winds up back in our 2016, with normal gas-guzzling cars and food that you actually have to make. As he struggles to get back to his own future, Tom learns a lot about himself, and begins to meet people who make him question whether going back to his future is worth it. I just had so much fun reading this book. Mastai did a great job writing Tom, who is a very entertaining and enjoyable narrator. I read this via e-book, and thus took forever to get through it, but if it had been a print book I think I could have read this in one sitting. I definitely recommend this book, especially for summer! 5/5 stars.

Thanks for sticking around and catching up with what I’ve been reading lately. Check out my Goodreads to see what I’m currently reading and thinking.

 

Leave a Reply

